New Engine Question

ben_beyer

I seem to be having a little trouble tuning my DA 60, which has less than a gallon through it. I'm using an ES Composites 55G pipe with the header DA recommended. Prop is a Mejzlik 24x10 and flying field is around 3800 ft. I think.

High end sounds good but I can never seem to get rid of the burble for anything below mid stick/throttle. My Brillelli did something similar and I just had to get it broken in by flying it. Does this sound like a similar problem (I.E. I just need to get as much fuel through the motor flying it and get it broken in) or should I go to a smaller prop like a 23x8 or Vess 23B until the motor has more time on it?

Jedijody

Proud father of Soldiers
Typically, if you go to a smaller prop the midrange burble will be worse. A bigger prop will help reduce it but I don't recommend it on a new engine. I've never run the ES pipes so I have no experience with them specifically, but every engine/pipe combo will have a best prop for all round performance. Response can be tuned somewhat with header length but there will likely be only one prop size that gives the performance you're looking for, I just don't know which one that is. Run a few more gallons through it and try a prop or two on either side of what you have, see how it tunes out after that.

roc111672

3D Farm Bartender
Yeah what Jody said. Well I guess what he said . Heck I don't know. All i lnow is I would certainly take Jody's advice. He is a wealth of knowledge and well I'm not.

ben_beyer

No problem guys. I was just curious what the consensus would be if I should just fly it or try a prop with less load. I have laminated Xoar 23x8 and I'm going to drill it and try it just to see what it does.

Tired Old Man

Staff member