E-Power 201

Discussion in 'General Plane Discussion' started by TManiaci, Sep 9, 2008.

Help Support Team Flying Circus by donating:

1. Sep 9, 2008 #1

TManiaci

TManiaci

TManiaci

Engineer Lifetime Supporter

Okay, for the graduates of E-Power 101, I thought we could advance on to the next level. :p

I have to confess, I am no expert of advanced E-Power systems or issues. So, I will gather some intellegence and ask that others contribute and bring topics to discuss.

The last segment of E-Power 101 covered the use of the Wattmeter to test Amp loads and select the right propeller to get the most out of your power system. There are some other very handy uses for the Wattmeter that you might not be aware of... Let's take a quick look at that.

2. Sep 9, 2008 #2

TManiaci

TManiaci

TManiaci

In our previous discussion, we showed how the Wattmeter is used in-line with our power source to monitor Wattage, Amperage, Voltage and accumulating Amp-Hours of energy. These measurements are taken when the aircraft is in a ready to fly static state, and the feedback we gather allows us to make intellegent decisions about equipment selection.

Wattmeter Wiring Load.jpg

Last edited: Sep 9, 2008
  3. Sep 9, 2008 #3

TManiaci

TManiaci

TManiaci

But that's not all it's good for... check it!

If you want to verify your charging, place the Wattmeter between your Battery and Charger to see all the important data for that process too. Amperage, Voltage and Amp-Hours are really nice to see, partcularly if you have a Charger without a data display.

Wattmeter Wiring Charge.jpg

But HEY... think about using this on all your other batteries too.

4. Sep 9, 2008 #4

TManiaci

TManiaci

TManiaci

Now most of you have chargers, and most of those chargers do Discharge. What is Discharge? It's a Controlled load to test your battery capacity. Do you use it? I bet not. Why? Because you're a lazy ass! :boxing: