Competition Airframes Extra 300 Build Thread

Discussion in 'Plane Registry' started by sukhoi26, Nov 9, 2010.

Help Support Team Flying Circus by donating:

1. Nov 9, 2010 #1

sukhoi26

sukhoi26

sukhoi26

Well I'm glad to say that this is my first build thread here on the Flying Circus and hopefully more to come. This will be a very detailed build thread on the account that I need to finish the manual for this plane and also to show everyone how easy it is to put one of my planes together. The 300SR uses the same fuse but roughly 8" shorter. Please don't hesitate to ask questions.
    The first pic is of all the laser cut parts you will receive in this kit. If you notice, their isn't any dark burns on the parts. The wood I buy is very good quality so you don't get alot of black burn marks from the laser. Also a higher wattage laser helps in this process. Lets start gluing!
    First you will need the LH and RH motor box sides and the F-1 and F-2 formers. I use nothing but Titebond glues on my planes. You can use whatever you are comfortable with. Take the F-1 former and glue it to the RH motor box side as shown. Then take the F-2 former and glue it to the RH motor box side. Then take the LH motor box side and glue it to both F-1 and F-2 formers. You might want to use some tape to hold them temporarily till the next step. Next you need to glue in the pipe tunnel cover. The grain of the wood is ran so that it will bend to get it in between the motor box sides. This piece also will be used for your throttle servo, ignition, regulator and ignition battery. You can use clamps to hold these parts together.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  2. Nov 9, 2010 #2

Dean Bird

Dean Bird

Dean Bird

Lifetime Supporter

Hate to take this down the marketing path already, but I will.

I've known "Competition Airframes" to be a building service. This will be a kit of your design you're selling, correct?